Sunny Choice Organic Cafe

Hi Everyone,

Last weekend, I made a trip down Sunny Choice Organic Cafe. Sunny Choice has been on my “Must Check Out” list for quite some time now but I’ve always been putting it off because it’s so far from where I stay. But boy am I glad I finally made the trip down.

Sunny Choice is located at The Rail Mail, along Upper Bukit Timah Road. Don’t be fooled by the name because unlike the typical high rise malls you see all over Singapore, The Rail Mall is actually a long row of 1 storey high shops and eateries. The mall is located next to the old Malayan rail way track and is surrounded by an abundance of lush greenery. I simply love this area and am so glad I to have found such a quaint, secluded spot in our bustling city.

mini-20131027_132318

Before I get on to the food, I have something really happy to share! My carnivorous bf has finally agreed to go vegetarian one day per week…weee! For someone who doesn’t eat much veggies, that’s a pretty good start=) So we’ve christianed the day as Super Veggie Saturdays and Sunny Choice was where we kicked off his first full vegetarian day.

mini-20131027_132420

You place your order through this tablet attached to your table. Thought this was pretty high tech for a small cafe! And smart too !

mini-20131027_132624 Ok, finally for the food! We ordered 2 sides, 2 mains, 2 drinks …and
the portions were pretty huge! The family beside us even commented ‘wow can the
both of you finish all that?’ We answered with a resounding YES! I’ve read a
few reviews saying that the dishes are bland. I can understand why because the
dishes here aren’t the typical vegetarian dishes – they are healthier, use less
seasoning and oil, and don’t serve alot of fried stuff….but that’s not to say
it isn’t tasty.

mini-20131027_134011

Tau Hu Goreng

This dish is a much healthier version of the typical deep fried and oily Tau Hu Goreng (Fried Tofu). Combined with shredded carrots, sprouts, cucumber, radishes and a generous topping of peanuts and pumpkin puree, the tofu is lightly fried to perfection and has almost no oil. In fact, I’m not sure what the method of cooking was. I like that it is lightly seasoned yet flavourful. My bf attacked this dish with so much gusto and kept saying in-between mouthfuls how he would come back for this.

mini-IMG_20131027_134057

Veggie Sushi

My favourite! This simple veggie sushi roll is filled with carrots, radishes, beetroot, alfafa sprouts and lettuce , served with a side dressing of wasabi soy sauce. It is SO DARN FRESH and the sauce is delicious. I think I could eat 2 – 3 plates of this anytime.

mini-IMG_20131027_134242 mini-IMG_20131027_134318

Vegetarian Curry Set Meal

This set comes with brown rice, a bowl of veggie curry, pumpkin chips and some side vegetables. Hearty and satisfying whilst not overly seasoned…but its right up my alley. LOVING the chips and was so tempted to grab an entire pack from the store =X

mini-IMG_20131027_134128

Salad Noodle

This dish was a little weird for me but still tasty nevertherless. Though I’m not a big fan of heavily seasoned salads, I quite liked the vinegar noodles because it balanced out the taste of the fresh veggies quite well. Its a little too heavy to be called a “salad”….more like a noodle dish.

mini-IMG_20131027_134450

There are many other popular items like the Thunder Tea Rice, Abacus set and Spagetti… so I guess I will have to make a trip back real soon!

mini-20131027_132938

Sunny Choice is also an organic store. The store sells a good range of products like fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts/grains/dried food, baby products, health supplements, oils/seasonings/condiments and even skin/body/hair products. Basically all your basic necessities for leading an organic and vegetarian lifestyle. What I also noticed and loved about the store is that there is a good variety of both western and asian products! mini-20131027_141916 mini-20131027_133944 mini-20131027_133904 mini-20131027_132950

Here are some other products I spotted in the store:

Oligo  – diabetic friendly sugar. like Xylitol

mini-20131027_141327

\Purple Sweet Potato and Pumpkin chips –  This came together with the curry veggie set and was SO yummy!! Its the Asian kinda chips which i LOVELOVELOVE.

mini-20131027_133650 mini-20131027_133637

The very first smoothie i ordered on my recent trip to London was a pretty pink smoothie that was decorated with dried roses …and  I swore to recreate that drink at home! Tadah I finally found the dried roses!

mini-20131027_133548

Kelp buds, great for soups=)

mini-20131027_133539

Don’t like the taste of chia seeds on  its own? Have Chia Crisps!

mini-20131027_133039

Overall, I enjoyed my experience at Sunny Choice very much – Healthy, delicious food at a very reasonable price, what else can you ask for? Will be back to try out the rest of the menu soon. Real soon.

mini-IMG_20131027_143753

Sunny Choice Organic Cafe

434 Upper Bukit Timah Road
The Rail Mall
Tel: 6892 2383
Open Daily from 10am – 9pm.

9 thoughts on “Sunny Choice Organic Cafe

  1. Pingback: 8 Things You Might Not Know About Sunny Choice @ Rail Mall | JZ smiles :)

  2. Pingback: 8 Things You Might Not Know About Sunnychoice @ Rail Mall | SG Vegan Triathlete =)

Leave a Reply

