Onaka Restaurant @ ARC

Hello all

onaka

I think I’ve found a new favourite restaurant in Singapore …..and that’s none other than Onaka Restaurant @ ARC (Alexandra Retail Center). Extracted an excerpt from their website to describe what Onaka does:

Onaka specializes in Creative Conscious Cuisine, which incorporated a merging of Asian culinary cultures with modern Western influence, using only wholesome and selective organic ingredients.

onaka menu

I’m always on the look out for dining places that my non-vegetarian family & friends and I can dine in sync.. The menu has a pretty decent mix of vegan, vegetarian and non-vegetarian options. On top of that, Onaka is also a great place for people who have dietary restrictions because they have Gluten and Dairy free options too. Love that their menu has these colourful little symbols that make it easy for you to see if the dish suits your particular diet.

Appetizer: Watermelon Sashimi

watermelon sashimi

watermelon sashimi

Don’t be fooled by the word Sashimi and the picture above because this appetizer dish is just the . When the dish was placed on the table, I actually quite going “wow…” because not only was the presentation so pretty but it looked like real sashimi! Even the texture looked like fish. Taste wise, it has the crunchiness and sweetness of watermelon but a familiar hint of sashimi taste. I normally don’t like to mix salty and sweet flavours together but i thought the sashimi went excellent with the daikon tamari dip. Do give this dish a try if you visit Onaka because its pretty darn ingenious and captures the essence of their brand.

Soup : Mushroom Consommé

mushroom consomme

We shared the mushroom consommé and I love how the broth was richly flavoured from the smoked shiitake mushrooms and no artificial ingredients. The bits of nato miso also added a nice salty dimension to the whole dish. It was a delicious little bowl of soup that made me wish I didn’t have to share haha…

Mains – Roasted Mushroom Soba

mushroom soba

mushroom soba

There are only 2 mains (if you don’t consider salads a main dish)  that are vegan. I chose to have the Roasted Mushroom Buckwheat Soba because I heard raving reviews about it….and ohhhhmyyy please don’t be fooled by this simple dish because it is so DELICIOUS. I HIGHLY recommend everyone (vegan/vegetarian/or not) to try this dish! I like that even though its lightly seasoned, its still very tasty… and the buckwheat soba is springy and not overly soggy. And oh, when the dish was set on the table, the distinct aroma of truffle hit us and left me grinning widely because I’m a big truffle fan! .Definately something that I would go back time and time again for. .

Read online that Onaka is popular for many non-vegetarian main courses like their beef and duck. My bf, who was initially apprehensive about dining at a “healthy restaurant” , had the duck crepe and he was totally won over.

Desserts: Avo Choco Emotion  & Vanilla Coconut Panna Cotta.

panna cotta

evo choco emtion

All the deserts at Onaka are vegan-friendly. I  personally prefered the Panna Cotta over the Avo Choco Emotion. I thought the Coconut Panna Cotta was creamy and delicious and went very well with the sour berries. This was my first vegan panna cotta too btw!  The Avo Choco Emotion was not to bad either, but I personally found the chocolate abit bitter for me. The avocado layer was extremely creamy and not overly sweet though which is a big plus ( i mean, who wants SWEET avocado right?!)

Overall, I had a really good meal at Onaka and I’m already planning my next visit back because there are so many things on the menu I want to try! Fresh ingredients, healthy options and delectable dishes…what’s not to love?

Food : 9/10
Service : 9/10
Value : 8/10
Ambience : 8/10

Onaka Restaurant & Wine Bar @ ARC
460 Alexandra Road,
#01-32 Alexandra Retail Centre
Tel: 62702012

http://www.onakafoods.com

Leave a Reply

