Mugshot Cafe & Rainforest Bakery – Penang

Hi all,

Sorry for the lack of posts recently. Have been really busy (and lazy!) of late :S! Promise

Anyway, I recently went for a short getaway to Penang, Malaysia. Penang is well-known for its authentic and delicious street hawker food and a place where Singaporeans and travellers alike flock to for gastronomic feasts. My best friend is from Penang and she has always told me that Singaporean hawker food will never compare to the food in her hometown. And after this trip, I have to say I agree with her!

While preparing for the trip, I was a little worried that I wouldn’t have much to eat there since hawker food is mostly non-vegetarian. So I did some research and asked around…and to my surprise, I found out that Penang is the vegetarian capital of Malaysia! WOOHOO ! Oh and the cafe culture scene is really booming there, so there you have it, the best of both worlds.

DSCN8775

DSCN8914

Visited the much hyped about Mugshot Cafe at Chulia Street. And it certainly is the “In” place! We got there arounnd 11am on Sunday and it was PACKED with young hippy Penangites and travellers alike.

mugshot

DSCN8893

mugshot

DSCN8897Even before you taste the food, you can guess why the cafe is so popular. The rustic, umpretentious atmosphere of the cafe creates a warm and inviting ambience – perfect for brunch or tea!

DSCN8899DSCN8900

The menu is pretty simple – coffee. bagels. yogurt. A good break from all the local asian dishes we were indulging in. I still find it hard to go 100% vegan during my travels… especially when you’re travelling with non-veg/vegan companions. I gave in and tried the Yogurt with Jackfruit and Gula Melaka (coconut palm sugar syrup). THIS WAS HEAVENLY!!!!!! The yogurt was thick and not overly sweet and it was a match make in heaven with the Gula Melaka.

DSCN8906

DSCN8902

My bf had the bagel with salmon and cream cheese and he loved it! The poppy seed bagel, which was baked in a traditional wood-fire oven, was the STAR. Judging from the empty plates on the other tables, I think most patrons were very very satisfied too! Look out our satisfied smiles below!

DSCN8909

DSCN8773

After the meal, we popped by next door to the Rainforest Bakery, an artisan bakery that sells an extensive range of gourmet and vegan breads. The breads are baked fresh daily and are ALL ORGANIC. Read more about them on this review here

DSCN8770

DSCN8767DSCN8772

I bought 2 loaves of bread back ( Fruit and Nut / Wholemeal ) to Singapore and it was GOOD. My dad ate a piece and couldn’t tell the difference between that and normal bread=) . Would definitely buy more the next time I’m there…plus, its really affordable.

They also sell a range of cakes, cookies and muffins (no pictures sadly) that aren’t vegan but I read from other reviews are pretty good.

Mugshot Cafe
302 Lebuh Chulia, Georgetown
T: (012) 405 6276

Rainforest Bakery
300 Lebuh Chulia, Georgetown
T: (04) 261 4641

2 thoughts on “Mugshot Cafe & Rainforest Bakery – Penang

Leave a Reply

