Pre-Holiday detox – Day 1

eat cleanOne week from now, I’ll be travelling to Penang for a short vacation. And those of you who have been to Penang will agree with me that it is a FOOD HAVEN! So I expect myself to be piggig out quite a bit =SS  Sadly, i piled back all the weight from my juice fast so I needa be a bit more disciplined before I head to the land of street food glory.

Going to start a week of clean eating and exercise for the next 7 days as part of my Pre-holiday detox. Do expect lots of random fasts/detox on my blog ! I really LOVE food and probably have the weakest self control on planet earth, so I try to to do such fasts/detox maybe once every 2 months (or whenever needed) to keep my weight and body in check. I find that it really helps when blog it down as it makes me more accountable and disciplined.

So if you’re planning a holiday or a break, don’t wait for after the vacation to guilt yourself into a detox. Go and a pre-fast and enjoy yourself even more when on vacation!

My Pre-holiday 7 day detox plan
1) EAT clean // lots of fruits and vegetables and nothing fried, processed or heavily seasoned.
2) MOVE for at least 30min daily // If you’re not physcially active, choose your exercise carefully and don’t shock your body. Keep it simple and don’t over exert yourself. Simple excerises like brisk walking, stretching, cycling, swimming will be good.
3) SLEEP early // I personally find that when I lack sleep, I crave unhealthy food and am more likely to go off track because I’m tired and lack motivation.
4) HYDRATE yourself // drink lots and lots of water especially since you’re going to be moving more and it helps to cleanse your system!

HERE WE GOOOOOO

PRE HOLIDAY DETOX DAY 1 – DAILY MEALS

Breakfast : 1 large orange + 2 wedges rock melon
Lunch: 1 large plate of salad with guacamole & zucchini hummus ( recipe below )
Tea : 2 wedges rock melon
Dinner: 1 slice of raw blackforest cake + 1 apricot + 1/2 dragon fruit

Exercise : 5km jog (35min) and stretching (10 min)

GUACAMOLE AND HUMMUS SALAD

guacamole and hummus salad

Guacamole

guacamole
What you’ll need:
1 avocado
1 small red onion, diced
5 – 10 chopped cherry tomatoes
2 stalks of chopped cilatro
1 tsp Lime juice
Salt & pepper to taste

Here’s how : Mash avocado and mix in the rest of the ingredients.

Raw Zucchini Hummus

zuchinni hummus (Previously blogged about a zucchini hummus recipe here, but changed it up abit with a bigger portioning. The result is a more watery texture, but taste just as good.)
What you’ll need
2 medium zucchini
3 garlic cloves
3/4 cup tahini
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp caynnne pepper

Assembling the salad:
What you’ll need:

DSCN8679

Lettuce leaves
1 yellow capsicum, Julianne
1 carrot, Julianne
1 grapefruit, cut into wedges
Alfalfa sprouts
Hemp seeds

DSCN8678

Assemble the plate as you see fit. Garnish the guacamole with alfalfa sprouts and sprinkle hemp seeds for that protein boost. Drizzle the hummus over the salad or use it as a dip!

2 thoughts on “Pre-Holiday detox – Day 1

Leave a Reply

