Homemade Cashew Milk

I love making my own nut milk because its fresh, more affordable and just tastes different from the store bought ones. If its your first time making nut milk, Cashew milk is probably the easiest and most fuss-free milk you can start off with.

2013-06-18 18.05.02

Before I start, you should know that the “raw cashews” you purchase in the stores aren’t really completely raw. The raw cashew nut is protected with a shell which contains the urushiol, which is the same chemical that you’d find in poison ivy and can be toxic when ingested. When cashew nuts are sold as a “raw” product, the cashew has actually been steamed to release the urushiol prior to packaging.

Even though I make Almond milk more regularly, I still love my Cashew milk from time to time.

3 reasons why I love Cashew milk
– EXTREMELY EASY to make! No need for a nut milk bag or cheese cloth.
– Thick and creamy
– Great for smoothies!

HOMEMADE CASHEW MILK
Raw, Vegan, Gluten free

What you’ll need
1 1/2 cups raw cashews (soaked for around 4 hours )
2 1/2 cups water
2 large medjool dates (pits removed)
Pinch of salt
2 drops pure vanilla essence

2013-06-18 18.02-tile

Here’s how
1) Blend all the ingredients in a high speed blender till smooth (you should not feel any nut bits). This will probably take 1  – 2 min. If you don’t have a high speed blender, you may need to blend it longer….or get some nut bits in your milk.
2) Pour and store in glass jar for 3 – 5 days.

Easy right?

Here are 2 simple smoothie recipes you can try with your freshly made cashew nut milk

CHOCOLATE “MILKSHAKE”

IMG_20130618_181009

What you’ll need
1 cup cashew milk (cold)
1 heaping tbs of cacao powder
1 1/2 frozen bananas (preferably ripe!)
2 drops vanilla essence
4 cubes of ice
Cacao nibs for topping (optional)

Here’s how
Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender and top with cacao nibs!

GREEN CREAMY SMOOTHIE

IMG_20130619_102711

What you’ll need
1/2 cup cashew milk
1/2 cup water
3 frozen bananas (preferably ripe!)
1 large bunch spinach
3 – 4 cubes of ice

Here’s how
Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender and top with your favourite toppings. In the pic above, I topped it with pomegranate seeds, cacao nibs, blueberries, hemp seeds and goji berries.

13 thoughts on “Homemade Cashew Milk

    • Hey Luke, I normally get mine at Mustafa. Cheapest I found so far=) Heard that there are certain wholesalers in Singapore that sell raw nuts too and I intend to check it out soon!

      • Hi Sheryl,

        I checked out Mustafa recently and was amazed by the variety of dates they have there. Thanks for sharing all these places with us. Anyway, i just wanted to let you know that i found a wholesaler that sells cheaper nuts than Mustafa. The shop is located on the 2nd level of Waterloo Street hawker centre. The nuts are not organic but they do have a wide variety of raw and roasted nuts.

        Cheers to clean eating!

  1. Just to share, I got mine from gardenpicks.com.sg . they are quite cheap (not sure what is the cheapest though) and delivers to your house too. If you are lazy to travel out, this is a good alternative:)

    • Thanks for sharing Jacqueline! The raw nuts are still slightly cheaper in Mustafa though but the prices at Gardenpicks are affordable too. I’m gonna try ordering from gardenpicks because thier roasted nuts and nut mixes sound really good. DO you have any recommendations?

      • Hihi sorry for the late reply, so far I haven’t tries their roasted nuts, only bougt raw nuts and dried fruits from them… do let me know if you have tried:) also im really missing ur raw desserts from TLC…:(

  2. I usually make my own almond milk, but you have me convinced to try cashew milk next. Especially that chocolate “milkshake”! I’ll be making that one very, very soon.

  3. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Milkshake | Funwithmunch

  4. Oh my goodness, can’t wait to try making my own cashew milk! I’ve made almond milk before and as much as I love almonds, it just doesn’t have the taste I’m going for. Can’t believe I never thought of trying it with cashews! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

