Juice fast day 5

 Day 5
Today was probably the toughest day of the challenge because I wanted to eat so badly! Something, anything! I wasn’t hungry, just missed chewing, tasting , munching. The very first thing that came to my mind was a juicy, red apple. Like you know, the one in the trailer for Desperate Housewives. To make it harder, I was making raw desserts at work today and it was TORTURE! =(( Had some leftover raw brownies and it took all the will power I had to push the plate away:(

I’m trying not to read my fav food blogs and scrolling through instagram too much because the food pics all look so good and make me miss making food! Can’ wait to get back in the kitchen to try out more recipes once the fast is over.

Physically, still feeling energised and alive. I lost a little bit of weight and feel like my steps are lighter haha. My teeth feel kinda funny though, like a metallic and fuzzy feel? Did some research and it seems like when you’re detoxifying your body, it dumps the waste on your tongue and teeth which is normal. You just need to brush more often. Oh and my skin feels good and I hope I’m not imagining it, but I sense a slight slow =))

IMG_20130524_141148

Today’s juices
Juice 1 – 1/2 flask = 1/2 grapefruit, 2 oranges, 2 stalks celery, 20 cherry tomatoes, 1 1/2 cucumbers, 15g ginger, 1/2 lemon, 80g parsley, 1/2 red apple

Juice 2 – 1 flask = 500g spinach, 1 cucumber, 2 green apples, 1/2 green capsicum, 1/2 starfruit, 15g ginger, 1/2 lemon, 2 stalks celery, 80g parsley

Juice 3 – Green Eyed Monster (see Day 4)

Others : 1 glass concentrated cold orange juice and 1 glass coconut water

Oreo was curious about my new green friend…..so he tried to make friends. I gave him a little bit of green juice and he hated it hahaa..end of friendship there and then lol.

IMG_20130524_160112collageIMG_20130524_160536

As i was doing my research, I was really amazed by the number of people who have done juice fasts and docummented it. Was really inspiring to read through thier blogs and get tips, inspiration and ideas!

Here are some of my favourites:

3 day juice fast – Alison (team member from Lauren Conrad’s blog)
4 day juice fastAlia Almoayed’s blog, where she posts a video on colon cleasing that is an eye opener!
7 day juice fastRory Freedman (author of Skinny Bitch) Gosh she is so funny and honest! I LOL-ed many times!
10 day juice fastEm from The Rawsome Vegan Life. One of my FAV bloggers EVERRRR
21 day juice fast – LOVED this post by Alex de Carvalho. It was so personal,insightful, well written and funny! Could relate to this post the most and I loved how he describes the juice fast as not just a rebooting of the body, but also of the mind and heart.
92 day juice fastSteve Pavlina (the first blog I read that inspired me to try out raw foods!) LOADS of info!

3 thoughts on “Juice fast day 5

  1. May I ask, u juice at home and then seal them in mason jars and bring them to work? How much juice do u bring on average? And also, is it ok for the juice to be transported over such long distances? Sorry I’m a juice noob but learning 🙂

    • Hi Darren, I’m lucky enough to have a juicer and fridge at work! So I store my produce in the fridge and prepare my juices during meal times . But during my previous fast, I juiced at home before bringing it to work. Would store them a large IKEA glass jar (didn’t have mason jars then)…this was probably around 1.5 L. Would drink a huge glass of fruit juice before leaving for work too. Would be good if you can find fresh juice near where you work in case the jar isn’t enough. You can also bring lemons and make lemon water at work for a change. I guess if you have a good air tight container, your juice could last outside for around an hour plus? But make sure to store it in the fridge the moment you reach work! If not, you can get a cooler bag to transport your juices=)

      Hope this helps!

  2. I love reading the diaries of other people’s juice fast, they let me know that we’re all human and will have simular detox symtoms. During your detox, I would highly suggest not drinking the orange juice from concentrate. There’s def a bunch of additives in there that may counteract your detox.

Leave a Reply

