Raw Chocolate Ganache Tart – BEST RAW CAKE EVER

Heelllo all, Happy Sunday! Its been a crazy busy week for me and I’m in serious need of a good night’s rest….hopefully your week has been less tiring.

Anyway, today’s recipe post is gonna BLOW YOUR MIND! Im sure of it cos it blew mine right outta the window!

Presenting, the Raw Chocolate Ganache Tart     IMG_20130517_191923

HOLY SHIT, this is the best raw chocolate cake I’ve made and one of the best I’ve tasted….!! Please forgive my crude language and excited exclamation marks, its a natural response once you’ve had a bite of this rawsome goodness.

IMG_20130517_192356

Got recommended this recipe by one of the instagrammers I follow (@cheryleatsveg). I never fail to get motivated and inspired by the raw/vegan community on instagram.  So I modified the recipe a little because I’m using a smaller springform pan and luckily for me, it turned out really well too. If you are using a larger pan, you can try the original recipe here.

RAW CHOCOLATE GANACHE TART by Laura Coexter

IMG_20130517_212230

INGREDIENTS (7,28″ pan)

THE BASE
– 1 cup almonds or hazelnuts (I used almonds)
– 70 g dates, pitted
– 1/2 tsp salt

THE FILLING
– 1 1/2 big ripe avocados ( I used 3 small ones because its quite hard to get the real large ones in SG. I might probably add another 1/2 in future)
– 70 g cacao powder
– 1/3 cup coconut oil
– 100 g raw coconut sugar
– 1/2 tsp vanilla essences
– Pinch of salt

HERE’S HOW
1) In a food processor, blend the almonds. Add dates and salt and blend till the mixture turns dough like. Add in 1 tsp of coconut oil and mix it in with your hands.

2) Press the dough into the pan to form the base. Leave in the freezer to harden overnight.

IMG_20130517_171141

3) Place all the filling ingredients in a food processor and process till smooth. Taste as you go along, I had to add more salt to bring out the chocolately flavour. Pour the ganache over the base and send it back to the freezer for around 2 – 3 hours.

IMG_20130517_171059

And tadahhhhhh! Enjoy a slice of heaven =)

IMG_20130517_212432

16 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Ganache Tart – BEST RAW CAKE EVER

    • Its best to soak them so that it relases the enzymnes. After soaking, you can dehydrate them fora short while to let it dry before processing it. I was lazy so i didn’t soak them haha..

    • Unfortunately, it melts pretty fast. If you wanna make it stay longer, you may wanna add thickeners like irish moss or psyllium husks. But you’ll need to refine the recipe a little to cover the taste=)

    • Hi Gemma, most organic food stores sell organic coconut palm sugar. Or you can get it online from iherb.com. You can probably substitute coconut palm sugar with coconut nectar or agave too

  1. Hello! This looks amazing! May I know what food processor you use and/or would recommend? Is it strong enough to grind nuts to make nut butter? Thank you! (:

    • Hi Julia, I use a generic food processor from Philips. Its good enough to process most of my recipes but I do find it harder to get nut and coconut butters. If you’re getting a food processor mainly for nut butters, I suggest you get a better one like those from Braun.

Leave a Reply

