Raw Sunflower Pate

IMG_20130508_191013

Other than raw desserts, my other all time fav dish to make is…DIPS!

OKay, so its not really a “dish” per say but I simply loveee making it. One reason is because dips are so versatile! They can be used as a sauce, a spread, a paste or simply as in tasty dip to dunk your plain vege sticks in (in my case, I sometimes eat it out of a bowl, like rice. disgusting right hahaha)

I have to share this really delicious and EASY raw pate (spreadable paste) that I just made. So pleased with the way it turned out! Brought it to work to let the chefs and colleagues try and they loved it too!

RAW SUNFLOWER PATE
RAW , VEGAN, GF

INGREDIENTS

1 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
13 pcs of sundried tomatoes (mine were pretty small pieces)
2 tbs olive oil
Zest of 1 lemon + lemon juice
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
1/2 tsp agave
1 tsp tamari
Generous pinch of salt
Pinch of pepper

HERE’S HOW

1) Soak sunflower seeds for at least 4 – 6 hours or overnight.
2) Soak sundried tomatoes in olive oil overnight (if so, use only 1 Tbs of olive oil later on) or in hot water for 5 – 10 min to allow it to soften
3) Process all ingredients together till it becomes a pastey texture. Taste as you go along and stop when you find the consistency you like best. I personally like mine a thick and not that smooth.

Too dry? Add a little water or olive oil.

IMG_20130509_142919

Used it a a spread for a mini tapas lunch I made for myself – with homemade raw almond bread , tomatoes, avocado and alfafa sprounts. Sadly the bread wasn’t fantastic, but I’ll get a post up once I perfect the recipe

IMG_20130509_142830

Such a satisfying meal. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Ps/ second batch of sunflower seeds soaking while I’m typing this post.

Leave a Reply

