Raw Vegan Pancakes for a Rawsome brunch!

Raw pancakesBrunch is possibly my favourite meal of the day and I think it should be associated with everyday of the week and not just the weekends! Back when I was working in corporate, I used to go for brunch regularly during the weekends. Catching up with friends/loved ones or even relaxing alone over a lazy late morning meal does wonders for the soul.

Unfortunately, ever since I started my new job, my weekends are all spent working. To make up for that, I’ve been trying to create little weekday “brunches” for myself since most of my shifts start in the afternoon.

raw pancakes

I’m a big pancake fan so I wanted to recreate this brunch favourite as a raw dish. This is actually my second attempt making raw pancakes. The first attempt was actually supposed to be romantic breakfast surprise for the bf but sadly it turned out horribly wrong and the pancakes looked more like flat sticky dough. But luckily my second try proved successful!

RAW PANCAKES WITH MIXED FRUITS
RAW, VEGAN (GF POSSIBLE)

IMG_20130426_095430

INGREDIENTS
1 large ripe banana
1/4 cup oat flour (just grind raw rolled oats in a high speed blender. Use buckwheat flour if you want it gluten free)
2 Tbs flax meal
1/4 cup non-dairy milk
1/4 tsp cinnamon
2 strawberries
1 large banana
Agave
Cacao nibs for topping

HERE’S HOW
1) Place the bananas, oat flour, flax meal, milk and cinnamon in a food processor and process till it
2) Use a 1/4 cup to pour and form pancake circles on a dehydrator tray. This should make 5 pancakes
3) Dehydrate for around 4 – 6 hours, then flip it over and dehydrate for another 4 – 6 hours. You pancakes should stil be moist, not crispy. Use a spatula to do this carefully so you don’t ruin the shape!
The dehydration duration really depends on your dehydrator model. I’m using the Ezidri Dehydrator and it doesn’t dehydrate evenly which is why I need 6 hours. So the best thing to do is to constantly check on your pancakes.

4) Serve your pancakes with fruits, agave and cacao nibs

DSCN8623

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

