Raw Carrot Cake with cashew cream

DSCN8592Warning : Surfing Pinterest in the middle of the night on an empty stomach is NOT advisable.

Last night , I was pinning pictures of delicious looking raw cakes and got so inspired …that i drove to the nearest 24 hour supermarket to get ingredients at 1AM! By the way, I found it strangely therapeutic to grocery shop in the supermarket in the wee hours of the morning….no crowds, plenty of parking spots and I could take my own sweet time to choose my produce.  Maybe i shall do that again some time soon :|!

DSCN8590

So anyway, this was this recipe from The Rawsome Vegan Life that got me out of the house. I cannot emphasize enough how much I love Em’s recipes and pictures! Everytime I want to convince someone that raw foods are more than just veggie sticks and salads, i give them her blog’s url. I changed a few things in the carrot cake recipe, so I shall repost my version here:

RAW CARROT CAKE WITH CASHEW CREAM CHEESE FROSTING
RAW, VEGAN

DSCN8602

INGREDIENTS
Cashew frosting:
2 cups cashews (soaked for 4 hours)
2 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons liquid coconut oil
1/3 cup agave
Water (1 used around 1/4 cup)

Cake:
2 large carrots, peeled and cut into small chunks
1 1/2 cups oat flour or buckwheat flour if you prefer it GF.
1 cup figs (Around 12 figs? I used figs because its less sweet and i love the crunch! But you can also use dates)
1/2 cup medjool dates (Around 7 dates)
1/2 cup desiccated coconut
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

HERE’S HOW

Frosting: Process all ingredients until smooth, adding water bit by bit. I wanted the cream to be thick, if you want it thinner, add more waster. Put in a bowl and set aside.

Cake: Throw all ingredients in the food processor and pulse till it sticks together and turns dough like.
I had to split my mixture into 2 because my food processor was too small.

Assembly (just copied the text from Em’s page) : Press half the cake mix into the bottom of an adjustable spring-form pan, mine was about 6 inches. Then spread on about 1/3 of the frosting. Put it in the freezer until the layer of frosting is hard. Then press on the rest of the cake mix. I let it set in the fridge overnight, then frosted the whole thing, but you can do it right away if you want. Take it out of the pan and use the remaining frosting, cover with whatever garnishes you like.

* If there were a few things I would probably try the next time around
– Some carrots bits were a little chunky and I would probably try shredding the carrots before processing them with the rest of the ingredients
– Mixing bits of walnuts into the “dough” for that extra crunch.
– Evening out the measurement of dates and figs

DSCN8591

Overall , this cake was a success! Even my carnivorous siblings loved it =) Now, what are you waiting for? Head to the grocery store!

ps/ my frosting skills are still pretty amateur! But look past that and the cashew cream cheese is soooo darn addictive !

One thought on “Raw Carrot Cake with cashew cream

  1. hi, this looks amazing! I was wondering what fig to date ratio would be better? (I am not a fan of very sweet foods).
    thanks!

Leave a Reply

