Raw Breakfast Parfaits

pumpkin chiaSorry for the yet again, long hiatus!
Have been travelling quite a bit this year – first it was Hong Kong, then Scotland and London, and now I just got back after spending 2 weeks in China. But no upcoming trips planned for the next few montths so i promise to update more regularly o_O.

Wanna talk about my new breakfast obsession – Raw/Vegan Parfaits!

I started making them in London because we were staying in a service apartment and Tesco was just across the road. I jumped at the sight of soy yogurt and the abundance of fresh berries ( seriously, berries are SO CHEAP in the UK.. Unfair!!) I loaded my basket with so much fruit I’m pretty sure i caught the cashier raising her eyebrows in disbelief. And then when I was in China, I had every intention to make green smoothies with my mum’s travel blender…but alas, it started going up in smoke when i made my first smoothie. Not sure if its the voltage or what. So I turned to makin trusty parfaits again=)

Made this ultra delicious parfait today, just had to share:

pumpkin chia parfait 2

Recipe : Pumpkin and chia breakfast parfait with ginger cashew whipped cream Raw, Vegan, GF
Makes 3 tall glasses

Ingredients

There are 4 different layers to this parfait :

1) Overnight oats layer
1/2 cup raw oats
1/4 cup chia seeds
2 cups raw almond milk
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup flax seeds
1 tsp of agave

Mix everything and leave in the fridge overnight

2) Fruits layer
I used 30 small strawberries for layering and garnishing

3) Pumpkin puree layer
1/4 small pumpkin (with the skin removed and seeded, cut into cubes)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbs agave
1/4 cup water

Food process all ingredients till its turns to puree. If you’re using a normal food processor like me (aka, not anything high end) , you’ll need to process for some time so be patient.

4) Ginger cashew whipped cream
500g of ginger
1/2 cup raw cashew nuts soaked overnight
1/3 cup water
2 tbs of coconut oil
1 tbs agave

Blend/process all ingredients. Leave to set for around 1 – 2 hours.

5) Optional : Toppings
I added pumpkin seeds and raw pecans as toppings. But feel free to add your favourite nuts and dried/ fresh fruit!

GO crazy!

One thought on “Raw Breakfast Parfaits

Leave a Reply

